Direction not Perfection

Direction vs Perfection For me Life should be more about direction, than perfection. I say ‘should’ because I often do get hung up on relative perfection. I say ‘relative’ perfection to clarify the desire to make something as flawless as possible, as opposed to archetypal Platonic perfection. ‘Direction’ is obviously a metaphor for life purpose (not travel orientation). I have intense drives both for direction, perfection, and the desire to not be a hypocrite. Despite these drives, the suffering of life forces me to compromise. Although I am sometimes a harsh perfectionist, I prefer compassionate happiness if I am forced to choose. My heroes all have some traits which can be perceived as flaws, and even make them hypocritical in some ways. And my interests, needs, actions, and desires often have contradicting aspects to them. So now you know I am talking about reality. So for me to be generally happy, I have a general direction in my life towards art, architecture, and environmentalism. I am content to try to make things better, as opposed to making them perfect by objective standards; because practicing perfectionism to me means never being content, and snobbish. My directions, on the other hand, allow for distractions, contradictions, and errors; because directions are ways of life, careers, goals, quests, ethics, and other complex ideals or theories. – Drogo

One Response to “Direction not Perfection”

  1. It is not how fast we move but that we keep moving forward. I share your feelings on that one. Keep smiling

Leave a Reply

