Musician Drogo Empedocles

Harpers Faerie Musician

Instruments: Piano, Keyboard, Violin, Drums, Native American Woodwind Flute (recorder), etc…

Styles:  Organic Music, Gothic, Tribal, Modern, New Age, Abstract, Free-form, Improvisational, etc…

Download his music for FREE on Reverb Nation!

#1 on Reverb Nation for World Music in Harpers Ferry!

*

Bands:  The Lance Simmons Quintet (Savannah, GA circa 1999-2000), Savannah Georgia Drum Circle (1997-2000), Harpers Faerie Goblins (emeritus)

Bands Collaborated with:  Stellar Watson (Shepherdstown, WV circa 2003-2005),  (Shepherdstown, WV circa 2001-2004), The Unfortunate Rakes (Celtic Film), etc…

Have hosted Individual Musician friends:  John Henry Dale, Bruha, Bruce Wilkens, Chance McCoy, and others…

*

I first played piano on our Hardman Grand Piano as a child. I could read basic music notes, but preferred to learn from others and make up my own songs. Yankee Doodle, Chop-Sticks, TV Themes, and Gothic chords. Then on Keyboard I was able to add sound effects, beats, and different instrument sounds. This opened up the World of Music to me.

Violin was more intensive because i had to practice for a teacher, lessons, and public performances. The cat hated my violin playing, and I did too. If I play a violin now, I will only do free-form fiddle for fun.

When I lived in Alabama, I bought a Native American flute with an Alpaca etched into it. It was very affordable, and made of a light-weight reed (naturally hollow stalk), which makes it perfect for travel. The sound is easy to make, and ghostly. I have a variety of other recorder designs, including a “Walton tin whistle”.

My best sounding (note for note), and most expensive flute ($30-$60?) was purchased at a Rendezvous in Wisconsin, made possible by a loan from Cordite, because I didn’t have the cash on me at the time. It has a wolf head on it, and its made from an old red-wood fence. I had been waiting a long time to find a quality flute i could afford; I paid Cordite back asap.

I love to play drums. My favorite drum is a “Walton Irish Bodran” with an elaborate Celtic Knotwork Cross on it.  My weekly Drum Circle in Savannah, GA was like pagan church for me.

*

All of my individual recordings are spontaneous improvised musical pieces. When I play with another musician, that’s where I try to have consideration for the part I play in it, note for note, pause for pause. Only with others would I consider confining myself to trying to remember how to repeat the same performance for a “song”. I prefer to imitate sounds like some birds can. When I am alone, there is no context for how to play, except what I make of my mind and environment; my thoughts are too organic to be confined in complex memorized repetition. I like to able to hit a “wrong” note without feeling like i ruined the piece for everyone.

1997-2000

In the Lance Simmons Pan-Ethnic Quintet, we had Didgeridoo, Piano, Guitar, Vocals, and all kinds of funky percussion. Our style was pan-ethic world music genre. We really just went at it, from our spiritual guts. It was alot of fun. We played in a SCAD Battle of the Bands, SCAD Spring Break Concert at a Dorm Pool, SCAD Sound Studios, SCAD Music Hall (huge old building), in the Parks, and the Percussion guy and I played for money on the Beach Board-Walk and at the Pavilion! He had this crazy water drum he made. That same year I also took a class on African instruments in the Park (in relation to Spiritual Martial-Arts).

LSQ Recordings:  Theme for a SCAD Film, Answer, Cowbells in Savannah, Didgeridoo Bass, Clip-Clop Gallop, etc…

2000-2012

2008   Condo Couch Recording

Faster / Slower

2011 Flute Recording “East-West Bridge”

I call it “East-West Bridge” because I play pieces that sound both Asian and Native American, and blends of the two; plus some Celtic style European stuff. I play randomly, whatever I feel like playing when I play solo. My style has constantly evolved since the 1990’s.

*

Leave a Reply

