Velvet-leaf Indian-mallow Weed

Name:  Velvet-leaf, Abutilon theophrasti Medic.

Other Names:  Elephant ear, Indian-mallow, Butter-print, Abuliton, Pir-marker, abutilon feuille de velours

Family: Mallow Family (Malvaceae)

General Description: Annual, reproducing only by seed. Resembles a small Sunflower plant, with very similar fury serrated leaves, but distinguished by  tiny yellow flowers and rotund seedpods. This weed is targeted by industrial farmers for annihilation. It usually grows less than 3 feet tall in gardens, but on farms has been know to grow over 6 feet tall.

Uses:  Cord can be made from dried stem fibers

 

(Large indian mallow-weed growing among corn in a farm field)

 

*

7 Responses to “Velvet-leaf Indian-mallow Weed”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    I had these growing in my gardens for the first time this year. Since I also had sunflowers I figured that’s what they were, but was suprised to see they weren’t. Now that I know what they are I will be happy to have them in my garden every year.

  2. a avid gardener for 20 plus years….these showed up in my yard for the 1st time this year

  3. An outstanding share! I have just forwarded this onto a co-worker who was doing a little homework on this.
    And he actually bought me dinner simply because I stumbled
    upon it for him… lol. So let me reword this…
    . Thanks for the meal!! But yeah, thanks for spending the time
    to talk about this matter here on your site.

  4. This plant is in my garden…..thanks birds! It’s about 5’4″ and very pretty. Does it have and holistic uses?

  5. One of these popped up (and up, and up, and up!) in my garden this year. Thought it was a sunflower at first, like another Poster, but then saw the tiny flower buds (which never opened), and the seed pods. After doing some digging, found out what it was. It’s not really bad looking, and it’s not hurting anything else in my garden, so I’m gonna leave it. Anyone know if any of it is edible, medicinal (as another person asked), or usefull in any way, besides fibers for cording, as mentioned above?

Leave a Reply

