Tofu Lizard Memoir 01

Tofu Lizard SCOD Journal Entry 1

*

Prelude

I first learned about SCOD while I was working at my office job in DC. One day I was surfing the net, and came across the SCOD website. I read some articles, watched some videos, and I was hooked. I realized that the Sustainable Cooperative for Organic Development (SCOD) was just the type of concept I had been unconsciously formulating in my own mind for years. My parents were hippies, I had heard about communes, and my friends and I had researched alternative energy as a hobby for many years. It was becoming very difficult for me to justify my modern conventional lifestyle with the scientific theories that I was learning about; you know the usual liberal theories like Climate Change, Sustainable Architecture, and Environmental Pollution. Combine knowledge of science with history, throw in a dose of ethics or spirituality, and something like SCOD is an unavoidable conclusion for someone like me. Sorry, but it just is.

The following memoir I had written is a record of my participation in SCOD, and bits of my biography pre-SCOD to give you context and perhaps allow average readers to understand that I was pretty normal, despite the fact that I made a gradual (albeit huge) change in my life that was very different at the time. My story follows the events of me leaving my office job, hiking the Appalachian Trail, and finding SCOD.

… [continued in Entry 2]

2 Responses to “Tofu Lizard Memoir 01”

  1. Nibbling…sounds like an interesting adventure in the making…

Leave a Reply

