Tofu Lizard Memoir 02

Tofu Lizard SCOD Journal Entry  2

I worked for a big commercial company, the name of which does not matter anymore. The last day I went in to work at my office job, I was already emotional from my recent divorce and loss of all intimate relationships. My boss came up to me and said “You are a terrible worker. You lied on your resume when you said you were a good worker.” Instead of attacking my boss in return, or defending myself, I just started crying. I cried not like a baby, but more like a wounded animal that had lost the will to live. Once I left work for the day, I took everything I owned with me, and never came back to that office. I purchased all the gear I thought I would need for my long summer journey on the Appalachian Trail (AT). I had read some parts of some books on the AT, taken some notes, made some lists, done some walking, so I felt as ready as I would ever be in my life. Now was the time for change in my life, and it happened. I did not own my apartment, so I just put my things into cheap storage, and paid my last month of rent before I started hiking.

The day I began hiking on the AT I simply left my car parked at a parking space near the Trail in North Carolina. It would be months before I was able to return and salvage the vehicle. Now I was headed north on my own two feet, with a walking stick and a heavy pack on my back. After a few days I had befriended other hikers, and began telling them some of my adventures so far on the Trail. Their favorite story of mine was the time I was cooking tofu on some hot rocks by the fire, and a lizard kept stealing pieces of my tofu! That is how I got my trail-name “Tofu Lizard”, which I still use today. I am not sure which was funnier; the fact that I had chosen to carry tofu in my pack, or the antics of the lizard.

*  [continued in Entry 3]

*

Leave a Reply

