Celtic New Age Memoir

My early involvement in the 1990’s Celtic New Age Movement

During Catholic high school (1992), I studied World Religions; and decided that the religion that fit me best was Celtic Wiccan. Before then I had been Methodist – Agnostic. Now I realized how much I loved Nature, and how much flora and fauna were a part of my life. The more I studied literature, art, and architecture my beliefs were confirmed.

When I got home from school, I would go downtown (in Harpers Ferry), and visit the Herb Lady Shop. Often the ladies that worked there would play celtic music, like Clannad and Loreena McKinnett. Well the atmosphere was seducing, and my entire soul told me that the rapture of the “New Age Movement” was paradise on earth.

So together with other local pagans, we formed a coven, founded a circle, and practiced loving magic. Later in times of heart-break, it was Wiccan love magic that helped me survive. The celtic and eclectic new-age love that I found within myself, still survives to this day, and I am always tending its immortal flame.

This path also led me to eventually become an environmental architect, into the 21st Century! I will never stop fighting for what I think is right, and it is still embodied in my faith. Blessed be the gods and goddesses of nature, and all the elements!!!

Celtic Music favorites

– Drogo Firewalker Hawthorn Empedocles III

Leave a Reply

