Congratulations President Obama

I write this tribute to our first African-American President on the day of his 2nd Term Inauguration. I proudly voted for him this time. Last time I proudly voted for my Green Party Candidate Cynthia McKinney, who would have been our first Black and first Woman President. Before that I was Kucinich all the way. Many whites forget that it was not long ago that our culture treated blacks as property, because they were our slaves. Not only are we mostly ignorant about this history, it is almost impossible for most of us to feel their suffering, never mind trying to understand that we should celebrate the fact that we have a kind, intelligent black representative leading us now. It is true we can argue that maybe Obama is actually more white socially, but he is a decent negotiator between the two cultures.

Finally I feel the USA is back on track with social liberties, picking up from the 1990s and all the damage that was done in between, regarding racial, ethical, and cultural freedoms in general. Considering what a president has to deal with, I like Barack just fine.

Sure there are policies I disagree with. For example I do not threaten people with nukes or guns. So I am not as conservative as Obama on many issues; and perhaps I would have not bailed out all the banks and auto companies, but I remember the political pressure that was put on him by all those that believe in Wall Street and all that shit, and I am sure there is some bribery going on there to make it all function. I do not gamble like that, but obviously those rich people do. The worst things about Obama (and JFK) is that for all their kindness, they tend to go along with whatever the military wants, so I question everything from Drone Strikes to the regular military shit.

Ok I would also legalize Pot.

Besides those issues, I agree with Obama on Gun Restrictions, Gun Rights, Gay Rights, Equal Rights, Ethics, etc… and most of all Environmental Protection, Alternative Fuels, and Renewable Energy in that we need more of these things. I think we need more radical change faster, but fast change can have worse side effects sometimes than slow change, in a culture where almost half of the voters do not want those changes. So there you have it.

– Drogo

“A decade of War is now ending. Peace need not be maintained by constant War.”     – Obama.

0109131641a

Leave a Reply

