Organic Education

Independent Scholar Vouchers

Hear me all those with a college diploma, ye who think thou art superior to those without a college diploma.

Hear me all those without a college diploma, who think that bosses will only realize your worth if you get a college diploma.

I have a Masters Degree in Architecture from Savannah College of Art & Design. Yes I think I earned it. Yes I am proud of it. Yes the paper diploma, the school documents, and the thousands of dollars of loans do not mean that I am smarter, more intelligent, or wiser than if I had been taught many of the same things by other means.

Sure I value many of my college experiences. Yes I retain much of the knowledge I received from the 6 years. Yes I value the friends and teachers I had. Yes many of classes I took were of little value after I graduated for the types of jobs that I had. Yes many of the classes I took are largely obsolete in my life today, because of who I am. Who I am includes life changes, life choices, phases of various interests, and realizing how I want to define myself as an adult. When I was in college I was a teenager, becoming the adult I thought I wanted to be; which was in contrast to becoming the adult I thought was expected to be by other adults. Now I am a grey-haired adult, becoming the adult I think I now want to be; which is not entirely the same adult that I became previously.

Now, let us talk about self-education, independent tutoring, and community learning. Self-education can be reading a book, talking to someone, or learning that a person experiences or realizes during or after a variety of hobbies, social events, or work periods. Independent tutoring means self-education by means of personal tutors, or Master-Apprentice relationships. Community learning means groups of individuals learning from mutual shared experiences and interactions; this can include civic or work place social works. I believe these are all part of mainstream public and private education through schooling; but they are also important alternatives to mainstream schooling.

I personally have always learned best by studying subjects by my own standards, and on my own time schedule. I have always loved learning in general; but just as I prefer good teachers, nice bosses, and generous loved ones; I also prefer learning in fun and free ways best. So why do we have standard schooling, besides the fact that it is a tradition? My answer is that the bell system of classes is based on factory efficiency, and not on organic quality education. Organic quality education can occur through self-education, tutoring, and community learning by themselves; without factory standard schools.

I do think if the only type of education for the masses that the government will fund is standard public schooling, than it is good that at least one type of education is provided for by our tax money. I would rather organic personal learning be funded by our government at whatever scale, but what we have is probably better than nothing. One alternative cultural situation could be that organic education be so popular and mainstream that no taxes at all would need to be collected for education of any kind, because people would want to spend all of their money on education as soon as they earn it; as though it were a commercial or drug trend like sports, cars, or alcohol.

I propose a theory of organic education using the 3 organic methods as previously stated; that would be verified by an Independent Scholar Voucher (ISV) system. I, as an independent scholar, can vouch for another independent scholar that I have witnessed, taught, or worked with enough to defend their claim of educational learning to a certain ‘degree’. In this way I am willing to defend such Voucher titles, to the point of publicly challenging any opposition to the claim. Do you know of any public or private institution that would be willing to wrestle or fight a person that did not value your educational ‘degree’ that you earned from them? Fuck no. Would I fight for your right to express your personal organic education, if I could vouch for it with confidence? Fuck yes!

fourways temple

Leave a Reply

